Award WinnersThe International Dyslexia Association is pleased to present six annual awards to recognize those active in the field of dyslexia and also those who struggle with learning disabilities, yet have reached great levels of achievement despite the challenges they face.

The Samuel T. Orton Award
The International Dyslexia Association’s (IDA) highest honor, recognizing a person or persons or who have:
  • Made a vital contribution to our scientific understanding of dyslexia, or Significantly enhanced and advanced our capacity to successfully intervene and assist people with dyslexia, or
  • Expanded national and international awareness of dyslexia, or
  • Demonstrated unusual competence and dedication in service to people with dyslexia

The Margaret Byrd Rawson Award
Recognizes the work of an individual to advance the mission of The International Dyslexia Association (IDA). The Award shall be given to a member of IDA whose work on behalf of IDA embodies Margaret Rawson’s:

  • Compassion
  • Leadership
  • Commitment to excellence
  • Fervent advocacy for people with dyslexia
  • And whose work is nationally recognized as furthering the mission of IDA

The Remy Johnston Certificate of Merit
Established to honor the memory of a fine student with dyslexia whose promising life was tragically cut short a few months prior to graduating from college.  This award recognizes a young student with dyslexia who:

  • Is a worthy role models for others, and
  • Refuses to be limited by the challenges of learning differences, and
  • Strives for excellence, choosing to live as an achiever, and
  • Continues to enrich the lives of families, friends, employers and the communities in which he or she lives through service.

The Pinnacle Award
Created to recognize an individual with dyslexia who has publicly acknowledged such, has made significant achievements in his/her field of interest, is leading a successful life and is a role model for others with dyslexia.  The Pinnacle Award recognizes a person or persons or who has publicly acknowledged that he or she is dyslexic and has achieved a high level of success and or prominence in any chosen field.

Excellence in Leadership Award
Created in 2013 to honor an individual who tirelessly aims to improve the lives of those with dyslexia. This award is given in recognition of excellence in service to individuals with dyslexia, their families, and the greater community.  

Early Career Award for Contributions to Research
This award is given to an early-career researcher and conference speaker whose innovative research has had a positive impact on the lives of individuals with dyslexia.

The Norman Geschwind Memorial Lecture
When Norman Geschwind died of cardiac arrest on November 4, 1984, the Orton Society, (now the International Dyslexia Association; IDA), lost a member of its Board of Directors, a speaker of great note, the scientific mind behind the society’s Neuroanatomy Study, and a dear friend. To honor Dr. Geschwind’s memory, in 1985 the Orton Society established a Norman Geschwind Memorial Lecture Fund that is used to provide a speaker at the IDA Annual Conference. The speaker is to represent the broad nature of Dr. Geschwind’s interests in dyslexia and related disabilities and abilities. The legacy of his curiosity lives on.